Entries open for WTM AFRICA Responsible Tourism Awards 2023

India among four regions for Awards categories
/ New Delhi
Entries open for WTM AFRICA Responsible Tourism Awards 2023

Organisers have invited sustainability champions, changemakers, movers, and shakers to enter the WTM Responsible Tourism Awards 2023 (Photo: Hiroko-Yoshii/Unsplash)

Entries are invited for the 20th edition of WTM Africa Responsible Tourism Awards, to be held in 2023. Awards can be entered for any four regions, Africa, India, Latin America and Rest of the World. Entries must be submitted by February 17, 2023.
5/5 - (1 vote)

As the stage is set for organising the next edition of World Travel Market Africa and Africa Travel Week 2023, the organisers have invited sustainability champions, changemakers, movers, and shakers to enter the WTM Responsible Tourism Awards 2023. The awards are a unique chance for the tourism stakeholders to be recognised as a leader in responsible tourism and to put their company on the world map, say the organisers.

According to a press statement, the awards are integral to Africa Travel Week and honour responsible businesses which are leading the way on the continent. Established in 2004, these annual awards set the benchmark for best practices, encouraging tourism stakeholders to rally behind sustainable travel experiences.

Significantly, there is a focus on India as a region in the awards for 2023 as the world has been split into four regions: Africa, India, Latin America, and the rest of the world. Each region’s winners will go forward to compete in the Global Awards at WTM London 2023.

“Sustainable tourism is a top priority worldwide, and we know that many African organisations are leading the way with their actions and initiatives. These awards are an opportunity for recognition and celebration. We are very proud that South Africa’s Witsiehoek Mountain Lodge has been recognised in the Growing the Economic Benefit category and as an overall winner in the 2022 Global WTM World Responsible Tourism Awards,” says Megan De Jager, Portfolio Director, Travel, Tourism & Creative Industries Portfolio at RX Africa.

Award entries will be judged by a panel of industry experts led by Harold Goodwin, WTM’s Responsible Tourism Advisor, says the press statement.

“The Responsible Tourism Awards are an opportunity for businesses and destinations to demonstrate their commitment to responsibility and sustainability. An accolade like this can bring significant business benefits, including increased awareness and a competitive advantage. We encourage all eligible businesses to enter,’’ says Goodwin.

“Africa’s tourism industry is booming again, and it’s more important than ever for us to embrace ways to preserve Africa’s unique assets for future generations,” says De Jager.

The awards have been classified into six categories, including:

Best for Tackling Plastic Waste

Best for Meaningful Connections

Best for Local Sourcing, Craft and Food

Addressing Climate Change

Best for Diversity and Inclusion

Best for Nature-Positive Tourism

The last date for entries is February 17, 2023 and details for nominations can be found on the WTM Africa website.

You may also like
WTM Africa 2023
Registration opens for WTM Africa 2023
Golf tourism market to grow to USD 40.4 billion by 2033
Busan positions itself as Global MICE Destination
Myndstream aims to bring mental wellness through music: Freddie Moross

Leave a Reply

Get Magazine